C&C: 9th International Conference on Culture and Computing

Culture and Computing is an important research area which aims to address the human-centred design of interactive technologies for the production, curation, preservation and fruition of cultural heritage, as well as developing and shaping future cultures. There are various research directions in the relations between culture and computing: to preserve, disseminate and create cultural heritages via ICT (cf. digital archives), to empower humanities research via ICT (cf. digital humanities), to create art and expressions via ICT (cf. media art), to support interactive cultural heritage experiences (cf. rituals), and to understand new cultures born in the Internet, Web and Entertainment (cf. net culture, social media, games). The International Conference on Culture and Computing provides an opportunity to share research issues and discuss the future of culture and computing.

Call for participation leaflet (42KB)

The related topics include, but are not limited to:

  • Analysis of new culture in the internet and web
  • Computational interactive culture
  • Cultural and social computing
  • Cultural data analytics
  • Cultural heritage archiving
  • Culture and brain science
  • Culture and collaboration
  • Culture based media art and music
  • Digital libraries for culture
  • Digital storytelling in cultural context
  • Emotions, archetypes and culture
  • Games and culture
  • Indigenous knowledge
  • Information environments for humanity studies
  • Intangible heritage preservation
  • Interaction with digital humanities
  • Interaction with tangible and intangible cultural heritage
  • Interactive art and design
  • Interactive digital museums
  • Interactive light and illumination
  • Intergenerational communication and education
  • New interfaces for tangible and intangible cultural heritage
  • Reflections on the impact of ICT on culture
  • Religion and culture
  • Rituals in human life
  • Virtual, augmented and mixed reality (xR) application for culture
  • Visitors’ experiences in digital culture
  • Program Chair

    Matthias Rauterberg

    Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands

  • Board Members

  • Juan A. Barcelo
    Universidad Autónoma de Barcelona, Spain
  • Melodee Beals
    Loughborough University, United Kingdom
  • Emmanuel G. Blanchard
    IDU Interactive Inc., Canada
  • Jean-Pierre Briot
    CNRS - Sorbonne Université, France
  • Erik Champion
    University of Western Australia, Australia
  • Torkil Clemmensen
    Copenhagen Business School, Denmark
  • Fabiana Lopes Da Cunha
    São Paulo State University, Brazil
  • Jean-Gabriel Ganascia
    Sorbonne University, France
  • Halina Gottlieb
    Digital Heritage Center Sweden AB, Sweden
  • D. Fox Harrell
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, United States
  • Susan Hazan
    Digital Heritage Israel, Israel
  • Rüdiger Heimgärtner
    Intercultural User Interface Consulting (IUIC), Germany
  • Yiyuan Huang
    Beijing Institute of Graphic Communication, P.R. China
  • Isto Huvila
    Uppsala University, Sweden
  • Toru Ishida
    Waseda University, Japan
  • Katerina Kabassi
    Ionian University, Greece
  • Sagini Keengwe
    University of North Dakota, United States
  • Gertraud Koch
    University of Hamburg, Germany
  • Marcia Langton
    University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Susan Liggett
    Wrexham Glyndwr University, United Kingdom
  • Donghui Lin
    Kyoto University, Japan
  • Lev Manovich
    City University of New York, United States
  • Yohei Murakami
    Ritsumeikan University, Japan
  • Ryohei Nakatsu
    Kyoto University, Japan
  • Jong-Il Park
    Hanyang University, Korea
  • Robert Parthesius
    New York University Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
  • Dilip A. Patel
    Sardar Vallabhbhai National Institute of Technology Surat, India
  • Claus Pias
    Leuphana University, Germany
  • Antonio Rodà
    University of Padova, Italy
  • Kasper Rodil
    Aalborg University, Denmark
  • Pertti Saariluoma
    University of Jyväskylä, Finland
  • Hooman Samani
    University of Plymouth, United Kingdom
  • Vibeke Sorensen
    Nanyang Technological University Singapore, Singapore
  • William Swartout
    University of Southern California, United States
  • Daniel Thalmann
    École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Claudia Trillo
    University of Salford, United Kingdom
  • Frans Vogelaar
    Academy of Media Arts, Germany
  • Michael Walsh
    Nanyang Technological University Singapore, Singapore
  • Jianjiang Wang
    Shanghai Normal University, P.R. China
  • Lin Zhang
    Communication University of China, P.R. China